St Benedict's, Garforth
‘For a life of Prayer’ (Rule of St Benedict)
We aim to be a caring Catholic community, assisted by prayer and the sacraments, proclaiming God ’s Word, serving all in need.
Few parishes in the Diocese of Leeds can boast a history dating back to 1725. Close links with the Benedictines at Ampleforth nurtured the Catholic faith in this area. For nearly 200 years they maintained St Wilfrid’s Church at nearby Aberford on the Great North Road.
The church was passed over to the Leeds Diocese in 1983. The present parish priest is Father Henry Longbottom, the 39th to hold that position.
The first church in Garforth was built in 1964 but blew down the week before the official opening. The second one, made out of wood and glass, had to be demolished in 1994. The present church is the third one on this site. We hope this one, designed by Vincente Steinlet and opened on the Feast of St. Benedict 11th July 1998, lasts longer than the previous two!
In 2009 our community was enriched when we were joined by the neighbouring parish of
St John’s from Allerton Bywater.
St Benedict’s is fully compliant on all aspects of Health & Safety and carries up-to-date safety certifications.
St Benedict’s has a strong safeguarding policy compliant with the directives of CSAS, NCSC, and the Diocese of Leeds Safeguarding Office. All volunteers and clergy are fully compliant with safeguarding DBS requirements and ongoing formation compliancy courses, where appropriate for the role. We have a dedicated safeguarding officer who can be contacted on 07544236861.